Travel is nice, but it’s good to be home

Travel is nice, but it’s good to be home. We took a plane from Providence to Tampa, and everything went relatively smoothly. The flight was uneventful. The flight attendant was kind of cutesy in that she would sing some of the instructions over the flight intercom.

Part of what I guess helps me to be interesting is the fact that in addition to my TBI, I’ve also struggled with weight, and had lap-band surgery a year and a half or so ago. Both my wife and I had the surgeries together, or concurrently, so we are both going through it together. We have smaller portions. Usually, we fix the meals ahead of time, and put the meals into containers, so that it is easy to just grab a tubby for lunch. When travelling, we don’t really have that as a guide.

The lap band will tell you when you’ve eaten too much. Usually, we eat less than too much, because of the already mentioned little tubbies of the portion control game. Last night, I had a 10 ounce chopped Steak from Texas Roadhouse Restaurant, or whatever, it was on the $7.99 early bird special. I also had some of the mashed potatoes. Fran thought I was eating too much, and at the end, I noticed that I had more than enough.

Fran had a 6 ounce Sirloin Steak, and a few hot rolls, and whatnot else.

While eating breakfast today at TGIFridays (at the airport), I found that I needed to physically stand up to perhaps let some of the food go down the digestive track. Eating at the airport was not an economical way to do things, but it worked out in the long run.

My weight wasn’t too bad when I got on the scale this afternoon, so it should be interesting to look at it as we get to a more routine time for weight.

I guess I’ve done a pretty good job of avoiding most breads, which could otherwise present problems. An exception was when I got some cinnamon crumb coffee cake muffins, for having with Dave and Betty, I only had about 2 of the muffins. Still, it was misleading, because the serving size was about 2 ounces of a 5 ounce muffin.

I still find myself wanting some foods.

Leave a Reply

