Killing a federal judge is a capital offense

Supposedly, killing a federal judge is a death penalty eligible offense. I’m not sure how I feel about the death penalty.  I guess the shooter of Gabrielle Giffords will probably not have an easy time in prison.  I’m not sure who first said, “an eye for an eye leaves the whole world blind.”  Maybe it is attributed to Ghandi.  Some crimes are so bad, that there isn’t really an alternative.  Some people may say that the tragic victim of a system that failed to identify him, and nurture him really shouldn’t be held responsible for his actions, he clearly did not know right from wrong.  That doesn’t seem to be enough of an explanation.

There are constitutional rights to protect someone from incriminating himself unless he waives that right, and apparently, he has not.

I was impressed by the surgeon saying “miracles happen, and we in the medical profession like to claim credit for it, but in all honesty, we do not know why some people respond better than others.”  Maybe I did not get much of the quote correct, but I think I managed to hit upon the theme.

I do like a good story as much as the next fellow.  But I’m pretty sure that recovery will probably take many months, maybe years.  And there will probably be many potentials for set backs.  I sincerely wish her the best.  There could be larger issues at play.  I hope that she is able to regain most of her functions.  I hope for a miracle, but perhaps I try to think in terms of reasonable expectations.  A coworker tells me that the consensus in the research community is that penetrating head injuries‘ recoveries look very similar to recovery from stroke (at least when only one hemisphere of the brain is involved).  There really isn’t much of a need to do research on penetrating head injuries and the recovery processes.

I’m not so sure.  I do hope for the best with regard to Congresswoman Giffords.

Life is special. Miracles do happen.

 

Leave a Reply

