Thank goodness for small victories

We should count small victories as important, too.  For instance, at the new ENT doctor’s visit I had today, I had a procedure done called a mastoid bowl debridement, or something similar where they suck out the material that doesn’t drain away properly like “normal” ears, due to a procedure that I had when I was younger called a mastoidectomy.  

*SIGH*  A youth of too much time in the pool, and they are discovering some correlation between parents who smoke and ear infections in children, but people didn’t know back then.  

Anyway, small victories, after the doctor was done sucking the material out of my ear he wanted to make another appointment at 3 months, I suggested 5 months, and he was like, “yeah, 5 months.”  That puts it at the beginning of November, which should be better for not interfering with things during the thanksgiving to New Year’s time frame.

I really didn’t think my ear was that bad today.  But the doctor was using the suction, and the room started spinning, and my palms were sweating, and some other physiological responses happened, but I guess it’s all part of the process.  The doctor said it’s not the most pleasant of feelings.  

At work today, I asked if I could be part of a focus group and was initially told no, but then my supervisor rethought about the issue, and decided I could attend the first session.  Again, counting the small victories.

3 thoughts on “Thank goodness for small victories

  1. I think that there’s evidence of correlation between smoking parents and ear infections in children. I’m not exactly sure where I read that, but I can see if I can find more information, and swimming leads to ear infections.

  2. A youth of too much time in the pool, and they are discovering some correlation between parents who smoke and ear infections in children, but people didn’t know back then. can you explain more detail about this ?

Leave a Reply

